Wednesday, 4 April 2007

Warnapura Ton Guides Sri Lanka A To Series Win

A classy unbeaten century from opener Malinda Warnapura sealed the one day series for Sri Lanka A as the hosts defeated Bangladesh A by six wickets in the second one dayer to take an unassailable 2-0 lead at P. Saravanamuthu Stadium in Colombo.

In his 104 run innings off of 113 balls, Warnapura smashed 9 boundaries and 3 sixes. Chasing a victory target of 207, a breezy opening partnership of 91 runs from 17.4 overs effectively laid the platform for the series win. Warnapura’s opening partner Dilruwan Perera scored 46 off 63 balls with the aid of 8 boundaries.

The Sri Lankan top order suffered a wobble after Enamul Haque Jr. trapped Perera in front and they were reduced to 138-3. Jehan Mubarak and Warnapura restored Sri Lanka A’s command and won the match convincingly with 5.3 overs to spare.

Earlier, Bangladesh A captain Tushar Imran won the toss and elected to bat first. Bangladesh made a disastrous start as Akalanka Genegama and Ranga Dias ripped through the Bangladesh top order to reduce them to 57-5. Tushar Imran (38 off 55 balls) tried to steady the innings but it was mainly a 7th Wicket 82 run partnership between Farhad Reza and wicket keeper Sahagir Hossain that added some respectability to the Bangladesh total.

Farhad Reza scored 82 runs off 84 balls and cracked 7 boundaries and 3 sixes.

Lokuarachchi broke the partnership by removing Sahagir which triggered another collapse and the last 3 Bangladesh wickets fell for just 6 runs.

For Sri Lanka A, Ishara Amerasinghe and Kaushal Lokuarachchi took 3 wickets each for 34 and 57 runs while Akalanka Genegama and Ranga Dias grabbed two wickets each for 22 and 36 runs respectively.

Bangladesh will play their third and final one-dayer on Wednesday at the same venue.

Bangladesh A: 206 all out in 45 overs (Tushar Imran 38, Farhad Reza 82, Sahagir Hossain 25; Ishara Amerasinghe 3-34, Kaushal Lokuarachchi 3-57).

Sri Lanka A: 207-4 in 44.3 overs (Malinda Warnapura 104 n.o, Dilruwan Perera 46; Mahmudullah Riyad 2-28,).

No comments: