Friday, 10 August 2007

Bangladesh name three uncapped players in the Twenty20 Squad

Bangladesh selectors have named a youthful 15 member squad for the upcoming Twenty20 world cup to be held in South Africa in September 2007.

The squad led by Mohammad Ashraful includes three uncapped players Junaed Siddique Imroz, Nazim Uddin and Ziaur Rahman, the first two are known for their big hitting abilities while the

 Alok Kapali recalled for Twenty20 World Cup

Rafique Alok Kapali recalled for Twenty20 World Cup © Cricinfo

last one is a fresh face in the pace bowling department.

Lanky paceman Shahadat Hossain is the only notable omission from the 30 man provisional squad and left arm spinner Mohammad Rafiq opted out due to a minor fracture in his left rib.

Alok Kapali, who was out of contention for the last two years has been handed another opportunity to prove his worth largely due to his outstanding form in last domestic season.

Bangladesh Squad

Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Masrafe Bin Mortaza (Vice-Captain), Alok Kapali, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed Chowdhury, Syed Rasel, Forhad Reza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Junaed Siddique Imroz, Nazim Uddin, Nadif Chowdhury, Ziaur Rahman.

No comments: