Wednesday, 18 July 2007

Bangladesh emerge as Champion in ACC Women's Tournament

Bangladesh women cricket team made a dream debut in the international circuit by winning the inaugural ACC Women's Championship in Johor Bahru, Malaysia today. They outperformed Nepal by 8 wickets in the rain affected final to become the unbeaten champion of the eight nation tournament.

Bangladesh dominated throughout the tournament and the one sided final only reaffirmed the gulf of differences between Bangladesh and other associate nations participated in the tournament.

Winning toss Nepal opted to bat first under overcast conditions, but failed to stand firm against the fearsome Bangladesh bowling line up. Midday rain curtailed the match to 18 overs a side and Nepal could only manage 26 runs for the loss of 8 wickets at the end proved too little to challenge Bangladesh.

Bangladesh pace trio Salma Khatun, Shamima Akhter, Tithi Rani Sarkar and left arm chinaman bowler Champak Chakma ripped through the Nepal innings and bagged 2 wickets each for only 21 runs.

Bangladesh needed only 9.2 overs to reach the winning target with the loss of two wickets to emerge as the superior team of the tournament.

Bangladesh all-rounder Panna Ghosh was adjudged player of the tournament while glove women Mina Khatun earned the best wicketkeeper of the tournament award.

No comments: